ADA Transition Plan

What is an ADA Transition Plan?

The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), enacted on July 26, 1990, is a civil rights law prohibiting discrimination against individuals on the basis of disability. ADA consists of five titles outlining protections in the following areas:

1. Employment

2. State and local government services

3. Public accommodations

4. Telecommunications

5. Miscellaneous Provisions

Title II of ADA pertains to the programs, activities and services public entities provide. As a provider of public services and programs, the Town of Hope Mills must comply with this section of the ADA Act as it specifically applies to public service agencies. Title II of ADA Act provides that, “…no qualified individual with a disability shall, by reason of such disability, be excluded from participation in or be denied the benefits of the services, programs, or activities of a public entity, or be subjected to discrimination by any such entity.”

Subject to Title II of ADA, the Town of Hope Mills conducted a self-evaluation of its facilities and developed a transition plan to outline strategies to achieve compliance. The ADA Transition Plan outlines policies and procedures for both the Town to maintain compliance, and for community members to have a dialogue about accessibility issues. The Town’s Plan provides a better understanding of the assets within Hope Mills and will help guide the Towns prioritization of ADA investment.

Additionally, progress on the Plan will ensure that the Town maintains eligibility for State and Federal funding to support transportation projects.

The Board of Commissioners approved the ADA Transition Plan at their August 3, 2020 meeting.